Sewing

Diy Lace Plaid Shorts

Hello again,

So today I wanted to start out one of my very first diy projects with something simple. Some good ‘ole comfy shorts that you could lay around the house in or maybe run an errand or two wearing. 

I found the pattern while searching on pinterest. It also comes with its own step-by-step pictured instructions as well. Links are below.

If you’re going to use the second link below. I would recommend adding 3 inches for inserting a elastic band so that it does not show.

Patten

Both patterns also come with a list of things you will need to complete this project. If you are going to use lace. You can pick a 3 yards roll at walmart for 2 bucks.

Link: http://www.ehow.com/info_12340439_make-easy-womens-boxer-shorts-with-pattern.

*P.S I also found an alternative for the waistband if you do not like the look of it showing. Here’s the link : http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Shorts specifically steps 9 and 10.

Words of advice from one who has used this pattern more than once. Like three times. I would try the shorts on before you sew the second side seam. I found that my size was a tad bit too big in the waist area.

It might not be the same for you but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

How to attach the lace

To attach the lace place it over the hem line. That way you can cover up the hem line thread itself. I would recommend that you not cut the lace until after you have reached the end.

I pinned the lace down and then sewed over it with a small straight stitch.

Once you’re at the end cut the lace leaving no space between the two and then use a zig-zag stitch to close it up.

To finish up I added an accent button to hide the area where I inserted the elastic band. It also helped me to identify the front of the shorts from the back.

Here is the finish project:

img1463598344896.jpg

 

 

 

img1463613551452.jpg
A close up of the lace I used.

 

img1463598427772.jpg

See yah next time for a new diy. Hope your looking forward to it just as much as I am.

Bye.

Leave a comment